devil in disguise

Never was very good at picking gifts. Either I’m not very good at paying attention to the details that people give out, or you’re always trying to figure out if the other person might be offended if you gave them said gift, or you’re trying to figure out if they “already have enough,” and therefore, gift-giving would just end in some kind of sad farce attempt to show that you care. There’s more than a few social situations I never learned how to deal with, and I suppose this is one of them I’ll just keep crashing into.

I know they say “it’s the thought that counts,” but at the same time, I’m not so sure. I guess everyone likes presents to certain degree…?

So, I ended up deciding to keep this one to myself, since the only option was to take strange photos of it, and save it as a joke present for later date. XD Anyone that comes up with a good caption for one of the following photos gets to keep it! O_Od

It reads! On the topic of presents, this one arrived under the door of my office.



More photos…you’re going to have to deal with the not-so great photos, I just started learning how to use my camera. Not that it’s a good excuse or anything. -_-U



And on that note…I suppose this is in honour of my being able to muster the willpower to leave Dramacon at home this year. Hooray for early gifts! Not that I like remembering the reason for it, every year is just a reminder that I haven’t done anything significant with my life at all. How very small we are…

Last, but not least, an old incident…I do some really embarrassing things sometimes…forgot to draw in the glasses in the last two panels.

I’m not quite sure how to describe all the things that happened this week.


3 comments

  1. What you don’t ask, you won’t get. Keep a list of friends’ interest. Even if a gift was duplicated (tho it should be a close time span between gift and delivery), they’ll understand and appreciate a gift exchange. In the best of interest, consider writing down what the other person enjoys having? From there, branch stores of interest to see if they have gifts that satisfy as their interest.
    Ask friends of friends for more inquiry if you want to keep information private away from the friend you want to give the gift.

    1. Well, all that makes sense to certain degree, but at the same time, it’s hard to balance all the theory with all the practical sides of gift-giving. Asking friends of friends is good too, but there’s the whole “bis dat qui cito dat” thing (that’s not very relevant at all @.@), and then trying to not look stupid because everyone else always brings something better.

      I’m probably over-thinking this, or I’m not confident enough to give “real” gifts, and opt for weird things that technically don’t count as a gift to the other person. Another stage to work up to, I guess. ^_^

      1. If you’re half-hearted about what you want to give, neither side will be left with positive impressions. It’ll make you feel worse and continue being being dazed in confusion. The receiver will feel like crap cuz the person doesn’t know if it’s a joke (in this case, worst joke and you’ll probably never be friends again) or intended (then you’re both confused and left with nothing to say for minutes before the person continues opening other gifts).
        If you got a reason, tell them why. It’s better to get them to understand than just to say “here it is, i don’t know why I got this for you”. Try to sell your idea for them to understand. Something like “I heard you liked this from [some known situation] so I went and got it for you”. The receiver will at least congratulate you for trying. The other side is really committing to finding out a gift. If you want assistance, I can help to a degree (minus gifts you are getting me).
        If you continue keeping this business to yourself and not using the assistance of others (not just myself), you’ll never get over this problem and continue to turn into dilemma.

Leave a Reply

