wind-catcher, fire-chaser

Here’s a sneak peek of something I’m taking part in!
Screenshot of book I'm taking part in.

There are times when you expect reinforcements, and all you get are more hurdles to pass through. So, next plan of action: walk around the hurdles like you’ve always have, leap over them, or throw them away?
Drawing

Things have been going alright for the last week, I’m surprised I saved it all for today to write it down (here).

News: Work continues on it’s way. I’ve been progressing on different projects, depending on what’s going on. I had the opportunity to take a look the potential co-ops that would replace me next term, and analyzing them, as well as coming up with questions.

My input was mostly in terms of conflict resolution questions…because that’s one part of this job that most people don’t realize. My newest project? Helping organize a robotics challenge. I’ll leave it up to you to try and figure out how the following photo is related to that.

Robotics Challenge photo.

Humans vs. Zombies tag officially concluded on campus with the HvZ Feedback session. This event taught me many things, from the adoption of personas by unexpected people that are outside their “normal” states, assertiveness, the value of comradeship (and friends), conflict, participation, information warfare, and a mash of various things. Why did I join, despite the fact I knew that I might not like all aspects of the game? Mostly because I wanted to observe human behaviour, especially with the backdrop of information warfare. I was totally not researching things like the so-called “Twitter Revolution” before the event. XD Totally not learning for the sake of trying to take over a world…
Humans photo, Mission 2.
I did learn quite a bit about my personal failings from playing. But anyways, if you’re curious as to how things were handled, check out the Human’s Facebook Strategy Group as something of a timeline to the game at Waterloo. I’m looking forward to the next one (despite my aversion to the d-bag behaviour of some, but every barrel has a few bad apples, right?).
Humans meeting before a mission start.
Photo of humans with nerf guns.
Humans being briefed by a game moderator.
Humans photo, being briefed on mission.
The Club That Really Likes Anime has their last show this term, and Imprint currently has about three issues to go before the end of term. As much as this term was fun, I’m looking forward to next term as well. Perhaps a little…love point battle? Haha. ^^

TEDxUW took place on campus this weekend. TEDx are independently organized TED events, where speakers speak to convey ideas and encourage others to do the same. I’d highly recommend seeing the talks from the UW-based one once they’re uploaded, if you happened to miss the livestream. They used the teaching platform one of the speakers started, which was John Baker from Desire2Learn. D2L is based in Kitchener, and really hope I have a chance to use it sometime soon. Sayonara, UW-ACE~
Courtesy of FB Group, TEDX attendees photo.

Of the speakers, it was clear who were the experienced ones when it came to presentations. Of the line-up, I’d have to say architect Philip Beesley was probably the one that I was most curious about. Other notable speakers included the charismatic youth champion Raynold Wonder Alorse, Engineering graduate Safwan Choudry, and the ever-quotable economist Larry Smith. You could hear everyone straightening up to listen when Larry Smith was about to enter, it was that intense.

Rethinking Art and Machine (RAM) is currently running at THEMUSEUM in Kitchener (near the Charles Street bus terminal) until the end of January, and the trailer, wishy-washy as it sounds, does sound like a good place to re-examine some old prejudices. An art show I’m interested enough to want to go to, for once.

Lastly:
I’m going to continue posting photos here. I do know the original intention of this blog was for sketches, but I haven’t drawn anything good enough to post, perhaps the up-side is improving my composition through photography.
Davis Centre cafeteria photo. Photo of Student Life Centre at the University of Waterloo.
Despite all the object-based photos, what I originally intended was to take photos of people around me that I know and care about. I was more than a little fed up that people keep promising to send me photos, and most of them never do. So, I’m taking the photos myself. I know memories are important, but I don’t know about you, but my memory for faces is poor- chances are, people won’t look the same anymore, or they won’t be around for you take their photo anyway. Goal: take more photos of friends, I suppose? If they let me, that is.

Leave a Reply

