developing news

UW Imprint‘s website as built by R. Kielstra, R. Ye, C. Jandard and S. Nabi. I’m currently serving as their Assistant Web Editor, and I’m really happy because I’m learning so much about an aspect of Imprint I had not dealt with before. Other sections I hope to become involved in before I graduate would be Design and Photography.
Screen Shot 2013-06-12 at 11.09.56 PM

Screen Shot 2013-06-12 at 11.10.06 PM
Screen Shot 2013-06-12 at 10.53.43 PM
Made with the Chrome “web inspector.”
Screen Shot 2013-06-12 at 10.53.56 PM
Rejected; too much like the Toronto Star.
Screen Shot 2013-06-12 at 10.54.05 PM

Screen Shot 2013-06-12 at 10.54.12 PM

4 comments

  1. Hmm, I’m confused as to why “breaking news” would be such a small part of the front page. Are you trying to not draw people’s attention to it? Does it reflect some other realities of breaking news that I’m not aware of?

    1. The other idea I had was the giant drop-down story (like the National Post when they have a large breaking story), but based on the requests from the editors, it looks like they want a certain story to be present on the page for about a week, and then it can be removed. The construction of the site at the moment does not allow for one story to remain in the image carousel, so I thought that a bar at the top would be best for this situation.

      I haven’t looked to closely to how the frontpage is constructed, so I don’t if it is possible to push the bar across, above the Twitter bar.

      But yes, it is true that “Breaking News” should be bigger, especially if it is worthy of such a heading.

Leave a Reply

